Breaking News
More (1) »

Buffalo, NY | Local News, Weather, Traffic, Sports | WGRZ.com

Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame inducts 13 new members

Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame now has 343 members.

BUFFALO, N.Y. — Thirteen new members joined the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame Thursday night at the Convention Center in the City of Buffalo.

The class is headlined by Joe Horrigan who spent 42 years as the executive director of Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. He's joined by Len Jankiewicz long time Lancaster football coach and athletic director. 

Also in this year's class Dorothy Jones who was a basketball star at McKinley High School and in college at the University of Louisville. Jones continues to officiate college basketball games to this day.

Other members of the class of 2019 are Chuck Crist, Adam Beattie Gunn, Ed Hughes, Travis Mayer, Jeff Prescott, Peter Scamura, Barbara Wachowiak, and the late Peggy Wattles. Two men from the 1800's were inducted posthumously, Will James and James "Deacon" White.  

With Thursday's inductees the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame will now have 343 inductees since its inception in 1991. 

RELATED: Niagara University removes 'interim' tag for Greg Paulus as coach

RELATED: Hall of Famer, Former Sabre Dale Hawerchuk fighting stomach cancer