Breaking News
More () »

Non-Essential travel from New York to Connecticut, New Jersey and Pennsylvania is discouraged

Cuomo also announced that Arizona and Maryland have been added to New York's COVID-19 Travel Advisory.

BUFFALO, N.Y. — For the first time since the New York State travel advisory was enacted during the COVID-19 pandemic, travel between border states is being discouraged.

Every Tuesday, changes are made to New York's Travel Advisory list by Governor Andrew Cuomo.

Neighboring states Connecticut, New Jersey and Pennsylvania now meet the criteria for the travel advisory. However, given how the states are inter-connected, a quarantine on these states is not practical. 

New York State highly discourages non-essential travel to and from the neighboring states above.

Cuomo also announced that Arizona and Maryland have been added to New York's COVID-19 travel advisory. 

No states have been removed.

The full, updated travel advisory list is available below:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

"We are now in a situation where 43 states meet the criteria for our travel advisory. This is really a bizarre outcome, considering New York once had the highest infection rate," Governor Cuomo said Tuesday. "There is no practical way to quarantine New York from Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Connecticut. There are just too many interchanges, interconnections, and people who live in one place and work in the other. It would have a disastrous effect on the economy, and remember while we're fighting this public health pandemic we're also fighting to open up the economy. However, to the extent travel between the states is not essential, it should be avoided."

The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average

Before You Leave, Check This Out