Sabres Name Hasek To Hall of Fame

BUFFALO, N.Y.- Legendary Buffalo Sabres goalie Dominik Hasek has been officially named to the team's Hall of Fame.

The team made the announcement Thursday, with plans to officially make him the Hall's 42nd member before a game against the Tampa Bay Lightning March 29th.

Hasek played nine seasons for the Sabres, winning the Hart trophy twice as the NHL's most valuable player, and the Vezina trophy six times as the league's best goaltender.

Hasek holds numerous Sabres records, including shutouts in a season (13) and Goals Allowed Average in a season (1.87). He won two Stanley Cups with Detroit after leaving the Sabres and was also an Olympic Gold Medalist with the winning Czech Republic squad at the 1998 games.

Hasek joins the following Sabres players, executives and staffers in the team's Hall of Fame:

Class of 1980
Frank Christie, Roger Crozier, George "Punch" Imlach

Class of 1982
Tim Horton, Fred T. Hunt

Class of 1986
David Forman, Don Luce, Craig Ramsay

Class of 1989
Richard Martin, Gilbert Perreault, Rene Robert

Class of 1994
Danny Gare

Class of 1995
Jim Schoenfeld, Robert O. Swados

Class of 1996
Ted Darling, Seymour H. Knox, III, Northrup R. Knox

Class of 1998
Jack Gatecliff, Larry Playfair

Class of 2000
Don Edwards, Bill Hajt, Wayne Redshaw, Robert "Rip" Simonick

Class of 2001
Jerry Korab, Mike Racicot, Mike Ramsey

Class of 2004
Mike Foligno, Dick Johnston, Pat LaFontaine, Rudy Migay, Robert E. Rich, Jr., George Strawbridge

Class of 2007
Phil Housley

Class of 2009
Dave Andreychuk, Milt Ellis

Class of 2010
Joe Crozier, Jim Lorentz

Class of 2011

Alexander Mogilny, Jim Kelley

Class of 2012
Dale Hawerchuk, Rick Jeanneret


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment
More Stories