Cabrera, McCutchen win MVP awards

( - Andrew McCutchen said if had room to dance, he would.

Things are looking up these days for the Pittsburgh Pirates and the center fielder is at the center of the resurgence.

McCutchen was named National League MVP on Thursday, the first Pirates player since Barry Bonds to receive the award.

Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera is more accustomed to such things. He won AL MVP for the second year in a row, again beating Angels outfielder Mike Trout.

McCutchen won in a landslide over Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, receiving 28 of the 30 first-place votes. Goldschmidt and St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina, who finished third, both received one first-place vote.

Cabrera beat Trout with Baltimore Orioles first baseman Chris Davis finishing third.

It was the third AL MVP in a row to go to a Tigers player. Cabrera got his first last year after winning the Triple Crown and pitcher Justin Verlander won in 2011.

Cabrera received 23 first-place votes, Trout had five and Davis and Oakland Athletics third baseman Josh Donaldson both received one.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment