Buffalo to host 2 world hockey championships in 2015

BUFFALO, NY - Buffalo will play host to two world hockey championships next year.

USA Hockey announced Wednesday that the 8th Annual International Ice Hockey Federation Under-18 Women's World Championship will take place January 4-12, 2015.

In April, Buffalo will also host the International Paralympic Committee Ice Sledge Hockey World Championship.

Both tournaments will be played at the soon-to-be completed HARBORCENTER in downtown Buffalo.

"We're extremely pleased to bring these two world championships to HARBORCENTER," said Dave Ogrean, executive director of USA Hockey in a released statement. "The athletes and fans will be treated to a state-of-the-art facility in an area where hockey is an everyday passion. Between the HARBORCENTER and Sabres staff, the local community and our terrific New York affiliate, we have an infrastructure in place that will ensure an outstanding experience for everyone involved."

"To have the opportunity to host two world championships in the span of four months is terrific not only for HARBORCENTER, but also our community," said John Koelmel, president of HARBORCENTER in a statement. "We're proud of the confidence USA Hockey has in us and we look forward to welcoming athletes and fans from across the world."

The IIHF U18 Women's World Championship will feature eight teams, including United States, Canada, Czech Republic, Russia, Finland, Sweden, Japan and Switzerland.

The IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championship will showcase the best sled hockey teams from the USA, Canada, Russia, Czech Republic, Norway, Italy, Germany, and Japan.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment
More Stories