BUFFALO, NY - After Sabres' GM Jason Botterill said Wednesday they would not name a captain to start the season, they'll now do it by committee.

The team announced four alternate captains head of their season opener tonight against Montreal. Ryan O'Reilly will once again wear the "A" along with Zach Bogosian, Kyle Okposo and Jack Eichel.

The captain vacancy comes after the team did not re-sign former captain, Brian Gionta.

The Sabres open the season at home tonight against Montreal. Face-off is scheduled for 7 p.m.