BUFFALO, N.Y. - The Sabres released their expansion draft protected list Sunday morning.

The following players have been protected in Wednesday's NHL Expansion Draft for the Vegas Golden Knights:


Tyler Ennis

Marcus Foligno

Zemgus Girgensons

Evander Kane

Johan Larsson

Ryan O'Reilly

Kyle Okposo


Nathan Beaulieu

Jake McCabe

Rasmus Ristolainen


Robin Lehner

Teams had two options for players they wanted to protect: 1) seven forwards, three defensemen and one goaltender or 2) eight skaters (forwards/defensemen) and one goaltender.

The Golden Knights are the league's newest franchise. They will begin playing next season and will be the 15th team in the Western Conference and eighth in the Pacific Division.

The Golden Knights must select one player from each of the other 30 teams, and they have until 10 a.m. Wednesday to submit their selections.