IRVING AND SALAMANCA, N.Y. -- In a clean sweep vote, Todd Gates was elected the Seneca Nation's next president, the Seneca Party announced Tuesday.

Gates ran as the Seneca Party candidate and is the current Seneca Nation Treasurer.

He received 1,364 votes, according to unofficial results -- more than twice the number of votes the next closest candidate received.

Gates lives on the Cattaraugus Territory and will be sworn-in next week after election results are officially counted by the Nation's clerk.

“The Seneca people have spoken, and they have given me the profound honor of serving as our next President," Gates said. “I am humbled and incredibly grateful to receive the support and confidence of so many Seneca from both Allegany and Cattaraugus. I look forward to honoring their trust and leading the Seneca Nation forward in meeting the challenges that face our Nation, the Seneca people and our entire community.”

The Seneca People also elected Maurice A. John, Sr., the current President, as Treasurer and Lenith Waterman as Clerk.

“I want to congratulate everyone who was elected tonight, especially our next President, Todd Gates," said President John. "As someone who has held our highest Seneca office and knows the responsibility, I have every confidence in Todd’s ability and Todd’s leadership. I have worked with Todd for many years, and I believe he will make an outstanding President for the Seneca people.”

Voters chose Arlene Bova, Al E. George, Tim Waterman, and Mike Williams to serve on the 16-member Tribal Council from the Allegany Territory.

Those elected to the Tribal Council from the Cattaraugus Reservation include Linda “Soupy” Doxtater, Jeff Gill, Presley Redeye, and Keith White were elected to represent the Cattaraugus on the Tribal Council.