NEW YORK STATE -- With high deer populations in some areas of New York State, the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) announced Monday hunters can apply for remaining Deer Management Permits (DMPs) in certain areas starting Tuesday.

The permits allow hunters to kill antler-less deer to help control populations.

Parts of Erie and Niagara Counties are included in 15 Wildlife Management Units (WMUs) where the target for Deer Management Permits have not been reached.

These areas include parts of Erie and Niagara Counties that lie within a continuous line where the east branch of the Niagara River and Tonawanda Creek near Tonawanda meet (WMU 9A). Parts of the two counties lying within the intersection of Routes 31 and 78 (Transit Road) in Lockport are also included (WMU 9F).

For a full list of Wildlife Management Units where the application period has been extended, click here.

The leftover permits will be issued on a first-come, first service basis, the DEC says. It also encourages hunters to use the leftover tags to stock up on venison to share with friends or donate to those in need through the Venison Donation Coalition.